Chinese domain registration scam

by greg on December 19, 2008

Thoroughly entertained by this recent e-mail to our support address:

(If you are NOT CEO,please forward this to your CEO, because this is urgent.Thanks.)

Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China. we have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on December 12, 2008, One company which self-styled “Speed(China)Investment Co.,Ltd” are applying to register (company) as internet brand name and domain names as below (company.net.cn company.org.cn company.asia company.hk company.cc company.tw etc.).

After our initial checking, we found the internet brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please DO NOT reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 15 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by “Speed(China)Investment Co.,Ltd” unconditionally.

We would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.

Best Regards,

Kevin Wu
Senior Director
TEL: +86 21 69929440
Fax: +86 21 69929447
Website:www.qipeng.org.cn
E-mail:Kevin.wu@qipeng.org.cn

Naturally, this is a complete and total ripoff — so I’m reposting the e-mail here as a service to others. (Come and get it, Googlebot.) More details here and here and here and a million other places.

I love getting exposed to interesting scams and solicitations – access to a whole new class of sleaze is a definite perk. Don’t get me started on 409a valuation cold calls…

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: